Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Enhanced Data Barring Service check

Hello folks,

I'm a new member here. I have read through a lot of the threads on here already but I was not able to find exactly what I am looking for (though, it may be here, I just did not find it).

22 years ago, I was falsely accused of rape. I was a graduate student at the time and she was an undergrad at the same uni. Our 'story' was brief but, for me at least, meaningful. We were intimate on a number of occasions and always with her consent. Over time, we stayed friends but drifted a little apart and she quite quickly found a new boyfriend. However, when he, the new boyfriend, found out about the previous relationship I had had with his now girlfriend, his jealousy couldn't handle it. Two things happened: One, he attacked my car causing major damage to it. Obviously, I reported this to the Police. They worked out who had done it fairly quickly (CCTV helped). Arrested him and asked him why? He said it was because I had committed rape with his now girlfriend. Two - upon his release from detention, he illegally accessed the university email system and sent an email to ALL people on the campus repeating his allegation of rape and advised all other 'victims' of my actions to report me to the police. Suffice it to say, nobody came forward to corroborate the accusation but, the stigma was attached.