affair after 24 years

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• affair after 24 years

im new to this but here goes . ihave been married for 24 years and tonight my husband told me hes had an affair, i just need to talk to some one, any one. the pain i am feeling is over whelming i just dont know what to do or think. please help. he says he doesnt know why. but hes glad its out. hes had to tell me because he has tried to finish with her but she contacted me how painfulls that.

You can express your feelings on this forum if you like, or if you want to talk to someone by phone and you're in the UK or Ireland, you could try the Samaritans. Samaritans - Do you need someone to talk to? > National numbers

There's a lot of information about coping with affairs on the Internet which you might find useful in the coming weeks. For instance: Relate - Coping with Affairs. If you're in the UK, maybe you could arrange to see someone from Relate. They do counsel people on their own, if your husband doesn't want to go. Is there a possibility that he might, so you can develop plans for how to stop this happening again? Is he sorry he had the affair?
    My self-help articles on problems ranging from depression and phobias to marriage difficulties, to looking after children and teenagers, to addictions and destructive behaviours like anorexia, to bullying, to losing weight, to debating skills: http://broadcaster.org.uk/self-help
    And my article: How to Avoid Falling for Many False Claims or Fears of the Supernatural

Comment

he says that he is sorry, butis that enough, i dont know what to do next, on one hand i still love him so much, but on the other i hate him for what hes done, i keep seeing them together in my minds eye, its hard to talk to friends because they are our friends. The crunch seems to have come when she ask him to move in.

Comment